the braai

To be honest, this past month, with all the transitions we’ve been going through, I’ve really struggled to be fully present with the kids.  I’ve done pretty good considering, but this weekend, I wanted to make a much more concerted effort to be with them.  SO, on Saturday, Ezra and I walked around our backyard and found a whole bunch of bricks left behind by our land lord and we decided to build ourselves a braai (grill).  In some ways, it will stand as an altar of sorts… reminding me of the crucial time I have left to spend with my children and instill deep values into their hearts.
img_0247

Then today we had our first braai as a family.  It was AWESOME.  I think Ezra was proud of our creation… here’s a shot of him taking in our afternoon.

img_02501

4 thoughts on “the braai

  1. Hey Joe,

    You are right. Before long our children are grown and gone and we have just a brief time to instill those values and priorities into their lives.
    Looked like you guys had fun.

    Blessings,

    Dave

  2. I love the fact that it’s a homemade braai and that it has such powerful symbolism for you! Altars/ memorials are very biblical, you know. 🙂

    Awesome.

    love & miss you, Reeds!!!
    Laura

Leave a Reply

