Ezra’s Growing Heart

We’re due for an update on the kids, and I’m really excited about some things I’ve been noticing in their development. Especially with Ezra as of late. For those of you who follow me on Twitter or Facebook, this may sound familiar…

A few nights ago, we were sitting down for a family supper and Ezra asked if HE could pray this time. That speaks STRAIGHT to the heart! His prayer went something like this, “Dear God, thanks that we’re all good and that there’s food.” Then he went on to say something about us all being God, but my interpretation of what he was trying to say was that we’re all trying to be like Jesus (something we pray with him often).

Then the other night, we were getting ready to leave to meet some friends for supper, and it was pretty obvious that he didn’t want to leave the house. I told him his friend Jason was going to be there, and his face lit up! He turned around and said, “oh dad, I love Jason’s heart so much. He’s my friend.”

I’d like to think Nats and I had something to do with this, and I’m sure the whole modeling thing is happening here, but it feels like a bigger thing than just us modeling something to him. I get the sense that my baby boy is seeing, hearing and deeply feeling things that stir God’s heart. I think hearing his heart will be a critical discernment tool for me in the future.

My son!

2 thoughts on “Ezra’s Growing Heart

  1. Joe, these anecdotes touch my heart. Little Ezra!!! SO adorable.

    And I have to say, while the others almost made me cry, this line cracked me up… “Then he went on to say something about us all being God…”

    Are you sure you’re not raising a little New Age Universalist? 😉 Kidding… but so funny & sweet!

Leave a Reply

