Past the Understanding… Peace

November has been an all out blitz to the end of our ministry year. So much has happened all year, but this month seemed to just crank. Hence the lack of blogging. Here’s some highlights from the month and how you can be in prayer.

-As we’ve told you, we went from a team of 8 to a team of 4 in the span of a couple months. Well, that’s changing a little bit again. Two other teammates are prayerfully considering if they ought to stay with us in SA and another is looking to get married and be gone a large portion of the year. That could potentially lead to them moving towards a different ministry as well… it’s all up in the air!

-BUT, God’s been incredibly rad and we are bringing two really great guys into the team to help make some major shifts here. We are also bringing on an intern who was part of NC in 2008. Honestly, I feel like God’s stacking the deck to give us the winning hand.

It’s been an emotionally tough one this month… hearing people considering leaving, helping people pack up and move on to what is next… but as I sit at my desk tonight, I feel that peace that just passes my understanding.

I don’t understand God’s peace. I mean, I understand it enough to tell you what it means, but I don’t know if I’ve really gotten to the depths of that peace. Sure, there have been times in my life I’ve experienced some rad peace, but something’s strangely different this time. I can’t explain it and I don’t want to figure out how to. Is that what it means to pass my understanding?

My prayer for our family, for our community going into the future, and for our friends both here and back in the States is that we’d all experience the fullness of the peace that passes understanding. I want it to rush us so much that we have to stop trying to figure it out and just rest in it.

Amahoro…Shalom…Peace

Leave a Reply

