Dear Mr. Rodgers,

Growing up, I would regularly watch the television series, “Mr. Rodger’s Neighborhood”.  His theme song was so catchy, repeating, “won’t you be, won’t you be, won’t you be… my neighbor.”  This was my first exposure to the questions on what it means to be a neighbor.
Then I moved to Pretoria.

Dear Mr. Rodgers, what does it mean for someone to be my neighbor HERE?  Is it that they live next door to me?  What about the guys that live in the flats just opposite the waterway?  Are they my neighbor?  What does it look like to be the neighbor to this guy and that guy when both of them live at complete opposite ends of the social spectrum?  Please put your house shoes back on, get your puppets out and educate me again, because I am lost!

I feel like God has been taking me on a personal journey and raising a ton of really hard questions in me.  Consequently, I think He’s using this to lead our community into some harder conversations about our context in Pretoria and what our responsive postures need to be.  A few of those questions are…

  1. What are the implications of the incarnation for Jesus?
  2. What does it look like to incarnate in our context of Pretoria?
  3. What IS our context in Pretoria?
  4. What is the gospel to Pretoria and how is Jesus inviting us into this way of life here?

These are really just a few of the many many questions God is spinning around in my heart at the moment, but it’s enough to give you a window into where we sense God is taking us.

Leave a Reply

