Stop, Collaborate and Listen

Last month, my friend Andrew posted an article I had wanted to write about for some time.  You can check it out here.

I thought he said it so well that I neglected writing anymore about it.  Then some other angles poked their head out at me and I thought it’d be important to discuss.  My questions center around why we don’t collaborate well in the ministry/NGO world.  I have found that I am pretty good at certain aspects of ministry and pretty horrible at others.  Luckily I know people who rock in areas of my weakness though and we’ve become friends.  I think some of them are heretics and I know some of them think the same of me :).  Which leads to my working theories…

  • We forgot which kingdom we are part of.  Everybody’s thing is the way to go.  I see it so much in full time ministry circles.  Everyone has a gap year program, an internship, etc… Much of the time, those things are exact replicates from other ministries down the street.  I wonder what could happen if forces were joined together.  How much more powerful could some of that be?
  • Power dynamics.  This is a natural issue that sits behind the above point.  “Who’s the boss?”  We should really evaluate why we’re so hungry for control in the collaboration room.
  • Insecure views of success.  We define ourselves by what we achieve (well, many of us do).  The trouble is, we measure ourselves against the measuring sticks that don’t matter: each other.
  • Theology.  Sometimes we can’t get past elements of our theologies to work together.  I see that so much and it breaks my heart.

There may be many more.  Feel free to comment and keep a dialog going.  These are the main areas I’ve seen for why collaboration in ministry/NGO world tends to fail.  Sometimes, collaboration could hinder a process.  But I would venture to say our efforts to be “jack of all trades” might be holding the larger kingdom movement back considerably.  Be the best ___ that God enabled you and your community to become.  Then find some friends who do other things you can contribute your radness too… and let’s bring on the revolution!

Leave a Reply

